Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative


The Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative (KVEC) is a public education agency governed by superintendents from the counties of Breathitt, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, and Wolfe along with independent districts in Hazard (Perry County), Jackson (Breathitt County), Jenkins (Letcher County), Middlesboro (Bell County), Pikeville (Pike County), and Paintsville (Johnson County). These rural public school districts lie within the Central Appalachian Region of Kentucky and comprise an area about the size of Connecticut. East Kentucky Superintendents realized the necessity of such an organization in the early 1970’s and KVEC was formed in 1970 to address the needs of rural school districts. The Cooperative serves as a regional public education entity, focusing attention on teaching, learning and leadership, maximizing educational opportunities, and contributing to a more effective use of resources.

U.S. Department of Education Race to the Top Award Recipient

“Appalachian Renaissance Initiative”

Investing In Innovation Award Recipient

“C3R – Creating College and Career Readiness”

National Future Ready Schools Initiative

East Kentucky Leadership Foundation

Organization of the Year Award Recipient

Congressionally Authorized Digital Promise Initiative

Designated ASA National Educational Innovation Cluster

Project Prevent Award Recipient

“Ripple Effects”

GATES Foundation Award Recipient

Kelly Literacy Leadership Award Recipient

Richard Thornton Award Recipient

Founding Member – Appalachian Innovation Collaborative

East Kentucky Leadership Foundation Outstanding Organization Award

Programs Include:

Special Education Cooperative; Perpetuating Excellence in Teaching, Leadership, and Learning (PETLL); Reading Recovery; Content Network Leadership Networks; Professional Growth and Effectiveness; Appalachian Higher Education Consortium; Student Readiness and Wellness; Student Agency; Purchasing and Procurement